Log in

ameja Award Winners 2022

New York, N.Y. — The Arab and Middle Eastern Journalists Association is proud to announce the winners of our first Excellence in Reporting Awards. 

The AMEJA Awards highlight the great work about Middle Eastern and North African heritage communities at home and abroad and the excellent journalists who make that work possible.

Our 2022 Awards Recipients: 

Best coverage of the Middle East North Africa (MENA) region

Sarah Cahlan, Meg Kelly and Steve Hendrix - The Washington Post

Best coverage of Arab and Middle Eastern heritage communities in North America

The shooter’s wife: Noor Salman, wife of the Pulse nightclub gunman, is ready to speak

Rhana Natour - VICE News

Walid El-Gabry Memorial Award

Recognizing outstanding work of an AMEJA member, this award was selected by AMEJA members. El-Gabry was one of the founders of the organization.

Danny Hajjar - Freelance

Sa'alouni El Nas

We would like to thank our judges who have graciously volunteered their time to help make these awards happen: Mohamad Bazzi, Leila Fadel, Kareem Fahim, Ayman Mohyeldin and Jason Rezaian.

©2022 All Rights Reserved

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software