Log in

2023 AMEJA Awards Jury Members

The board of the Arab & Middle Eastern Journalists Association (AMEJA) is thrilled to announce the second annual AMEJA Awards call for entries. Meet the jury who will recognize the best reportage of the Middle East North Africa (MENA) region and our heritage communities in North America. 

Hana Bab- Host of Crosscurrents, the daily newsmagazine on NPR member station KALW Public Radio in San Francisco, and co-host/producer of The Stoop podcast.

Mohamad Bazzi - Director of the Hagop Kevorkian Center for Near Eastern Studies and an associate professor of journalism at New York University.

Kareem Fahim - Istanbul bureau chief and Middle East correspondent for the Washington Post.

Lily Jamali - Senior reporter with the American Public Media program, Marketplace.

Ayman Mohyeldin - Host of Ayman on MSNBC.

Members will also vote on the best work of one of our own in the AMEJA community. Each winner will receive $500 and a hand-crafted award during a ceremony at the Hagop Kevorkian Center for Near Eastern Studies at New York University on November 9th, 2023.

We welcome all manner of reports - print, digital, audio-visual. Submissions must be in English. Each entry must have been published or broadcast between August 1st, 2022-August 1st, 2023.

These are the three categories:

  • Best coverage of the MENA region
  • Best coverage of heritage communities in North America
  • Walid El-Gabry Memorial Award recognizing the work of an AMEJA member

You can apply for more than one category. However, each submission requires a separate application.

To submit your work please visit this link.

We look forward to receiving your submissions. Should you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to reach out by emailing:

©2022 All Rights Reserved

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software