Log in


The 2022 AMEJA Awards


For the first time since its inception in 2005, the Arab and Middle Eastern Journalists Association (AMEJA) is launching a series of awards to highlight exceptional work by and about Arab and Middle Eastern communities. 

AMEJA will present three awards along with a $500 cash prize for each winner. The categories are as follows: 

  • Best coverage of the Middle East North Africa (MENA) region
  • Best coverage of Arab and Middle Eastern heritage communities in North America
  • Walid El-Gabry Memorial Award, named after one of AMEJA’s founders to recognize the work of an AMEJA member

The first two prizes are open to all journalists and will be voted on by a jury panel. The jury panel, which is still in formation, will include:

  • Mohamad Bazzi, director of NYU’s Hagop Kevorkian Center for Near Eastern Studies
  • Leila Fadel, NPR Morning Edition Host
  • Kareem Fahim, Washington Post Middle East Bureau Chief
  • Ayman Mohyeldin, MSNBC Anchor
  • Jason Rezaian, Washington Post Columnist and #544Days Podcast Host

The Walid El-Gabry Memorial Award will specifically recognize the work of an AMEJA member and will be voted on by AMEJA members.

AMEJA is accepting submissions now through August 28, 2022, and work published between January 1, 2021 and August 1, 2022 is eligible. All formats are welcome, from print to podcasts and everything in between. AMEJA plans to announce the winners in late October.

The link to submit a nomination is here.

For more information or to speak with a member of AMEJA’s leadership team, contact

©2022 All Rights Reserved

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software